Schedule the time to get fit in the mind, body and spirit.

A Healthy Life with the 8 Limbs of Yoga

  • Yamas – How a Yogi treats others

  • Nyamas – How a Yogi cares for themselves

  • Asana – Poses or postures

  • Pranayama – Breath mastery

  • Pratyhara – Control of senses

  • Dharana – Concentration

  • Dhyana – Meditation

  • Samadhi – Union with Divine

    Learn in more detail about each Yoga Limb below…

Yamas & Nyamas are the Ten Commandments of Yoga!

5 Yamas:
  • Ahimsa – non-violence to all
  • Satya – truthful to all
  • Asteya – non-stealing
  • Brahmacharya – self control
  • Aparigraha – giving of oneself
5 Nyamas:
  • Saucha – cleanliness
  • Santosha – contentment
  • Tapas – great effort
  • Saudhyaya – self study, introspection
  • Ishvara Pranidhana – faith in Divine

    Means seat in Sanskrit and are the different poses and postures in yoga. Depending on who you talk to, there are either 160,000 or 780,000 yoga poses. So you are never not in an Asan. Just remember to breath.

    Breath is so important in Yoga that it has a completely separate limb. In Kundalini Yoga,
there are 100s of Pranayams. All Kundalini classes include Pranayam.

    The ability to be aware yet not react to our five senses, while in Dhayana (meditation).

    Being able to focus on our bodies while in an Asan. This is also described as mindfulness.

    Yoga was originally just Dhyana (meditation). But yogis had a hard time sitting for hours in Dhayana, so the Asanas were developed to open the body so Yogi could sit for longer periods of time.

    The ultimate goal of Yoga is to achieve a union with the Divine mind. Yoga will unite our minds, body, spirits and emotions, allowing a Yogi more time to reconnect with Divine.

Do Yoga For Life

Studio Address

310 Ely Ave Suite 1, Norwalk, CT 06854, USA

Fitness Hours

Mon - Fri
08 AM - 5 PM
Sat - Sun
08 AM - 3 PM

Ask Me Your Queries